Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Life Update: First Week of Classes

Well I have to admit, classes have so far not met my expectations. I admit to having really high expectations too since I have had Spanish classes abroad before. This is a heck of a lot more boring though. Right now everyone in my class is probably at about the same level, however we are being taught at a lower level. Sure we get to talk more and all, but its so easy that I am super bored. I hate easy classes (dumb American schooling system ruined me). I need a challenge but not like a super challenge. But anyhoo since we are all at the same level, hopefully we can get the class sped up a bit and the teacher will get on our level so we don't have to be on her level.
My internship, which I started Monday and had twice during the first week, is pretty interesting. On Monday they have a skills building day and a book club. Both of which the individuals (who knows what they call em here so falling back on REM speak) speak Gallego. You may not know what Gallego is, but its the language of Galicia which is the state of Spain I am living in this semester. I don't know if I've mentioned it before. Gallego is a mix of Spanish and Portuguese and I do not understand it. So Monday I was mostly thinking "what the fuck is going on right now". Thursday was a lot better though! Thursday was movie and discussion day with dance class after that.
La tierra nadie because we watched it in Spanish
The movie was super confusing to Mary and I because we both thought it took place during a World War. The entire movie I was thinking, "Why the fuck is the United Nations a thing right now and why are they in no man's land during a world war." I was super confused until the end when Carlos, our boss, informed us that we had it all wrong and it was some war, the Yugoslavia one maybe if that's a thing. I have no clue! It was about a war though but not a war movie! The reason they watched it at my internship place, which by the way is a place for people with mental disabilities to go and build skills basically if you hadn't caught that, was to show the miscommunication going on. Basically the whole movie was about miscommunication since no one understood anyone else with all the different languages going on.
After the movie we had dance class (okay there was an hour break but meh). For dance class you literally just gotta dance whatever and chat with your dance partner, you know skill building exercises. I obviously need these exercises too so its probably a good thing. Not to boast or anything, but my boss and I danced the Beauty and the Beast ballroom dance to some random music. Someday I might get used to the Spanish personal space bubble that doesn't exist, but Thursday was not that day! 
Except I was looking at the ground the whole time lol
So on Tuesday, I had my volunteering. I can't exactly say it went well. Only the office knew I was coming and then I was super overwhelmed with all the Spanish and talking and stuff that I just wasn't comprehending anything. I also had a super bad headache that day so basically was worthless at that time. Anyhoo, they thought I was dumb as hell and couldn't speak Spanish basically at all. I just sat awkwardly watching people do stuff. Oh and my volunteering is with people with alzheimer's in case you didn't know.
Wednesday night we had an outing provided by the school where we ate chocolate churros. I didn't really want them but tried them and I can still say I dislike chocolate and churros and when they are together too. We also had an outing to meet our godparents who are like slightly older than us. I have no clue why they are called godparents, especially since I don't even remember their names. They were part of ENS which I still need to sign up for. I such at getting shit ton apparently. 
On Thursday we went out after dancing too! Woo party. Before I could go I had to eat though and that was really eefing hard to do because it was just one of those nights where it was like "NO IM NOT HUNGRY GTFO" plus the food was super salty so it was super hard to eat. Anyhoo we "partied". Met a guy from South Africa and another from Britain. They were both great and hilarious to chat with. Returned to the apartment at like 230am, almost a Spanish person I tell ya! I just need to add a few more hours to that....
ON FRIDAY! We had a mini class celebration of Carnaval which is the local holiday that happens over the weekend/Monday/Tuesday. It literally is like a week long Halloween celebration in Spain without the candy but with the costumes. So I dressed in typical Mildred style clothes for it, because thats not allowed on most days ya know. It was kinda boring but kinda hilarious I guess?
So yeah that was my first week of classes <.<
Photo Cred: Eun Gil Jo or Christian (facebook told me so)
Our Costumes: 3 bees, a sailor, and idk what everyone else was


No comments:

Post a Comment